Focus Appoints Two New Directors To Board


Australian gold producer Focus Minerals (ASX: FML) is pleased to announce the appointment of two new directors to its board.

Bruce McComish, the former Chairman of stockbroker BBY Ltd and CFO of National Australia Bank, and Gerry Fahey, a geologist with 35 years’ experience and current director of resource industry consultancy CSA Global, both join as non-executive directors.

The appointments bolster Focus’ board by one, with the resignation of current non-executive director Chris Hendricks, who is returning to his native South Africa.

Focus Minerals Chairman, Don Taig, said Bruce and Gerry would bring important new skillsets to the Focus board as the Company embarks on its next stage of growth.

“Both Bruce and Gerry are highly experienced and respected in their respective sectors,” said Mr Taig.  “Bruce brings extensive experience in financial markets and financial management which will be invaluable as we embark on this next stage of growth as too will the skill sets of Gerry who is a deeply respected geologist within the international mining industry.

“I’d like to also extend my thanks to our outgoing non-executive director Chris Hendricks.  Chris has played an important role in Focus for the last three years and we wish him all the best as he returns to South Africa.”

Mr McComish, 63, is the former chairman of stockbroking firm BBY.  He has held senior management positions for a number of Australian and international companies including the National Australia Bank, where he served as Chief Financial Officer from 1994 to 1998, and North Limited, where he was the executive general manager of corporate affairs from 1992-1994.  Mr. McComish began his career with Unilever Plc, where he worked for 18 years in senior financial positions around the world. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration from Victoria University of Wellington and is a Qualified Accountant.  He is currently deputy chairman of Living and Leisure Group and a non-executive director Signature Capital Investments Ltd

Mr Fahey, 59, is a geologist with 35 years’ experience.  He was chief geologist for Delta Gold between 1992-2002 where he gained extensive resource, mine development and feasibility study experience on projects including Kanowna Belle and Sunrise in Australia and Ngezi Platinum in Zimbabwe.  Mr Fahey began his career as a mine geologist in the Irish base-metals industry on projects such as Tynagh, Avoca, and Tara Mines (Navan) owned by Noranda and later Outokumpu. On migrating to Australia in 1988, he gained further operational experience in Western Australia and the Northern Territory (Whim Creek and Dominion Mining), prior to joining Delta Gold.  He formed FinOre Mining Consultants in 2005, which merged with CSA in 2006. Gerry is a member of the Joint Ore Reserve Committee (JORC) and a Board Member (Federal Councilor) for the Australian Institute of Geoscientists (AIG).

Mr McComish and Mr Fahey join current non-executive director Phil Lockyer on the board.  Phil is a mining engineer and metallurgist with more than 40 years’ experience.  He is currently chairman of the Minerals and Energy Research Institute of WA and is a non-executive director of St Barbara, CGA Mining, Swick Mining Services and Western Desert Resources.

Download Announcement – Focus Minerals Appoints Two New Directors

This entry was posted in ASX Announcements, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.